What Pride Month Means to Me

It’s June again, and for many folks in the LGBT community that means one thing: Pride Month!

This is a movement that means a lot to me. Even though I’ve never participated in a Pride parade (or even though I’ve never had a significant other to show off to the world), this month is still a beautiful reminder to celebrate the progress we’ve made and a way to boost morale for the battles that have yet to be won.

What Pride means to me is that everyday, I’m choosing to love myself a little bit more.

I grew up in a very religious and conservative community, which taught me to hate myself, to hate who I am, to hate who I loved. When I was younger, I did not know how to separate how the world saw me and how I saw myself. It was a struggle to realize that I could choose my own path instead of staying in the road I was told was the “right” one.

I still live in a country that is far from perfect, especially when it comes to the treatment of LGBT individuals. Same-sex marriage is still illegal here. Trans people are still seen as lesser than. Bisexual people, such as myself, are still misunderstood by both straight and gay folks.

I had to unlearn so much self-hatred. I had to learn to pick my battles, to grow thicker skin. I had to find some semblance of confidence in a world that taught me to feel shame and guilt simply for existing.

Every time I watch the news, I feel pain in my heart when I hear of people discriminating against or even outright attacking gay or trans people just for existing as themselves. Or even listening to the ignorant/misinformed words of those around me.

Despite it all, I have hope. Perhaps, I will not live to see my country getting better. But I hope that future generations will have it easier.

Pride helps me love myself. And it gives me the strength to continue hoping for a better tomorrow.

I dream of the day young Filipino kids can just tell their parents who they love without fear of being disowned.

I dream of the day people can love who they love and walk hand in hand in the light of day without worry.

I dream of the day that Pride Month won’t be necessary for young queer kids to love themselves.

Maybe I won’t live to see it happen, but I hope those who come after me will get to see this new world. Be loved for who they are, not just who society expects them to be.

We’ve already made much progress, I believe. And it’s important to celebrate how far we’ve come even as we recognize that there is still more work to be done.

The world is imperfect but it is evolving. Slowly but surely, love will win over hate.

Be kind to yourself and be kind to others around you.

Happy Pride Month, everyone!

Leave a comment