Ranking ALL of the Marvel Cinematic Universe Movies (So Far)–PART 2

marvel_cinematic_universe_banner_by_mrsteiners-d77vtby

Alright, alright, alright.

I shall now rank the Top 7 MCU movies! (If you haven’t seen my rankings for #14-#8, you can read part 1 here.)

 

7-2560x1440

#7: Ant-Man (2015)

Of Marvel’s many superheroes, Ant-Man seemed like the silliest and most unlikely candidate for a big screen live-action adaptation. Though Ant-Man (the Hank Pym version, at least) had always been a core Avenger, very few people outside of comic book aficionados knew who he was.

Ant-Man’s relative obscurity and perceived silliness turned out to be its greatest asset. The Ant-Man movie embraced the inherent goofiness of a character who can shrink and talk to ants and turned it into a funny, heartfelt, lovable heist film. It also helps that our main character Scott Lang is portrayed by the always likable Paul Rudd and is surrounded by a colorful cast of supporting characters (like Michael Peña’s Luis, Evangeline Lilly’s Hope Van Dyne, and Michael Douglas’s Hank Pym).

 

6-doctorstrange_clip_sanctumbattle

#6: Doctor Strange (2016)

Marvel’s most recent superhero film is a doozy. I remember watching Doctor Strange in the theater with my dad last November. I already had a general idea of who Doctor Strange is and what he does because of all the Marvel animated shows I watch but my dad was 100% unprepared.

“What is even happening right now???” He’d whisper to me. Indeed, there are moments in Doctor Strange that need to be experienced to be believed. I could tell you about the FOLDING CITIES or the dimension with HANDS GROWING OUT OF HANDS or the TIME LOOPS but simply describing some of the trippier sequences would not really do this film justice. You need to just go watch it. Go watch it right now.

(General non-spoilery review: Much like all the other MCU films, Doctor Strange has a great cast, an interesting central protagonist, a redemptive story-arc, and thrilling action set-pieces but has a somewhat underused central villain. The fantastic, innovative visuals are what sets this movie apart from the rest of the pack.)

 

5-maxresdefault

#5: The Avengers (2012)

Like a red carpet for superheroes, The Avengers showcases Marvel’s finest crime-fighters (except for Spider-man, the Fantastic Four, and X-Men) as they battle Loki and his Chitauri army.

The Avengers tapped into that little fangirl inside of me that was just waiting to come out. There was that surge of happiness that came over me, watching all my favorite superheroes come together on the big screen to fight a battle they were never prepared for.  Filled with action, humor and heart, The Avengers has redefined what a comic book movie should be and has set a pretty high standard for all the next superhero flicks to come.

You have a problem with the movie? We have a Hulk.

 

4-guardians-of-the-galaxy_first_screenshot

#4: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

In all honesty, I’ve never heard of the Guardians of the Galaxy before I saw the film so when Marvel first announced that they were making this movie, I didn’t really have high expectations. When I did see it, I ended up falling in love with every single Guardian (especially Groot. Groot is love, Groot is life).

If you had asked me, before seeing the film, whether a movie that heavily featured a gun-wielding raccoon and a walking tree that can only say 3 words would be good, I’d have been skeptical. But Guardians of the Galaxy managed to make a seemingly bizarre premise work! Guardians is more of a light-hearted space opera featuring a lovable band of misfits rather than a straightforward ‘superhero flick’. This is a superhero story that even non-superhero fans could enjoy.

 

3-ca-the-winter-soldier06

#3: Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

What makes the Captain America movies stand apart from the other MCU movies is that it is not afraid to make statements and observations about the political, social and cultural landscape of the world we live in. Captain America: The Winter Soldier does not deal with the more fantastical elements of the Marvel world and plays out more like a 70’s era spy thriller.

It has a clever plot that manages to feel somewhat realistic despite its more comic book-y ties, along with fantastic performances from Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Anthony Mackie, Robert Redford, Samuel L. Jackson, and Sebastian Stan. The Winter Soldier is definitely one of Marvel Studio’s best films. (I actually had a lot of difficulty deciding where to place these last three films.)

 

2-greatest-superhero-films-iron-man

#2: Iron Man (2008)

Ah, yes. The one that started it all. This one has a very special place in my heart. A lot would argue that The Avengers or Winter Soldier would be better candidates for the #2 spot in a ranking of MCU flicks and I don’t exactly disagree. The Avengers is amazing in every sense of the word but I find that after watching it repeatedly, the magic slowly fades (not completely, of course). The Winter Soldier, on the other hand, has a lot of brains but I also feel like it isn’t as balanced as this film.

Iron Man, which I’ve watched more times than I can count, still brings me the same joy I felt when I watched it onscreen for the first time. Not only is the movie funny and entertaining but it is also deeply moving.

 

1-captain-america-civil-war

#1: Captain America: Civil War (2016)

I really ,really love this movie. It feels like both a continuation and a culmination of all the movies that had come before it. It manages to make a story that, in the wrong hands, could’ve felt overstuffed and overcrowded. Thankfully, the Russo brothers (who directed the film) knew what they were doing. Civil War feels both epic and personal.

I won’t give away any more details. Just go see the film. DO IT! DO ITTTTT!

 

Well, there you have it! I hope you enjoyed my personal ranking of all 14 MCU films! Did you agree or disagree with the way I ranked them? Feel free to let me know! Bye!

2 thoughts on “Ranking ALL of the Marvel Cinematic Universe Movies (So Far)–PART 2

    1. Oh, for sure! I love Squirrel Girl! Would definitely watch her solo movie!
      And yeah, I am aware that Ant-Man is far from the silliest superhero in Marvel canon but I just meant that the general audience probably saw him that way before his movie came out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

